I Could Eat This Every Night


So my Mama might not be able to cook eggs or steak all that well, but she sure can make the yummiest dish of pasta. In fact, most of the women in my family can. My aunt and grandmother had the most amazing sauce. I always thought it involved all these complicated ingredients and steps, but it’s really super simple. I must be honest though, even though this recipe can be followed step by step, it’ll never come out quite as good as theirs. I’m sorry, I’ve tried. BUT practice and it’ll keep improving, I promise.

Tomato Sauce


Tomato Sauce

Servings: 3

Ingredients:
1 can of pureed tomato sauce (I like Pastene, low sodium)
2 large garlic cloves
olive oil
1 carrot
black pepper
fresh basil

Directions:
Saute pressed garlic cloves in olive oil over medium heat in a large pot. When the garlic turns a golden color, add full can of tomato sauce. Then take the can and walk over to your faucet–fill the can halfway up with water. Add to the sauce. Add full (cleaned please!) carrot, and a few big leaves of basil. Crack some pepper as well. If you like to add salt, by all means add it. (I try to not use salt at all when I cook.)

Stir and simmer on low/medium heat for about 45 minutes. The sauce should thicken a bit as the water evaporates.

In another large pot, boil any kind of pasta you like. Drain and add your yummy sauce. Top with your favorite cheese–mine is Romano! Yum!

Want to add some meatballs to your sauce? Check back for my recipe!

Cheers,
Sabrina

Leave a Reply

