The Italian Way: Meat-a-ball-a


I used to be intimidated of meatballs. Not eating them of course, just making them. It was one of these holy foods I was always scared to attempt. I mean really, how many times have you heard someone say “Oh my mom’s meatballs are the best”, or “No one makes meatballs like my grandmother”. A lot I’m sure–I say it all the time! But I had enough! I want someone to speak that way about my meatballs!

I’ve made a bunch of batches with the recipe below, and they’ve come out different every time. My last batch makes me think I have finally got the hang of it. The secret is not in the ingredients, but in your touch. Hopefully my tips will help you create the meatballs worth praising about. NOTE: If you like very meaty and hard meatballs, skip this recipe.

Meatballs
Meatballs
Servings: About 15 medium-sized meatballs

Ingredients:
1.5 lbs of ground beef
2 eggs
1.5 cups breadcrumbs
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
1 cup Parmesan or Romano cheese
3-4 cloves of pressed garlic

Directions:
Mix all ingredients together. Consistency should be sticky and wet, enough to hold its shape, but not dry.

Heat skillet on medium heat. Add some olive oil.

Take a cup of water and dip your fingers in it. Grab about 1/2 cup of meat and form ball shape. Do NOT roll a hard ball. Be gentle and keep some room in there so they remain soft.

Dip your hands in water each time you form the ball. Add to pan. Cook for about 3 minutes on each side. They should be browned, but not cooked all the way through.

Tell us how you like your meatballs? Hard, meaty, or soft and bready?

Cheers,
Sabrina

3 responses »

  1. My dad has always said “its in the hands.” My uncle and him always fight over whose are better–but they always agree it was my grandmothers. When I made my “light” turkey meatballs (egg whites, low fat parm, whole wheat bread crumbs) my dad was not the first to jump on board with the idea!

  2. Pingback: I Could Eat This Every Night « The Mixing Bowl

  3. Pingback: Bridal Shower Success « The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

