Bridal Shower Success


The bridal shower on Saturday was a success! The food was delicious, company was great, and best of all, the bride-to-be was pleased!

It really was a lot of work–at least the cooking was.  I spent Friday night from 7:30-10:30 p.m. cooking, and then Saturday morning 8-12p.m. finishing up and making final touches to the room, all while trying to make myself decent looking.

I set up the room in the kitchen/living upstairs. It was especially humid out,  so I had to do all my cooking downstairs (didn’t want our guests sweating all over the place.)

So I was running up and down the stairs checking on the food.  I wanted everything to be warm so I was waiting as long as I could to finish heating the food in the oven.

Again, here was the menu–

Appetizers:
Bruschetta
Stuffed mushrooms

Lunch:
Baked Ziti
Meatballs
Chicken Parm

Salad
Bread

Dessert:
cupcakes and cookies (store bought)
Tirimisu (other bridesmaid brought)
Fresh Fruit Platter

Drinks:
Sangria

Here’s what I did to prepare for guests arrival at 12:30p.m.:

Friday night:

Cooked chicken parm sauce (no meat)
Cooked Pasta sauce with meatballs
Fried chicken cutlets and arranged in baking dish
Prepared brushetta tomato topping; mixed all ingredients minus salt
Chopped up salad w/cucumbers and pre-sliced julienne carrots
Washed and arranged fruit on a platter

Saturday Morning:
Topped chicken parm with tomato sauce and cheese
Boiled pasta and arranged in baking dish with sauce and cheese (removed meatballs to another baking dish)
Pre-pared stuffed mushrooms
Toasted brushetta bread

Saturday starting at 11:30am:
Baked Stuffed Mushrooms (reheated at 12:30)
Baked Ziti for 45 minutes (needs time to cool a little so easy to scoop)
Baked chicken Parm
Reheated meatballs
Made sangria mix

I think that was everything! A lot of the food went, but I obviously cooked extra so we’ve been eating leftovers since!

Some other tidbits, don’t forget the salad dressing, butter for bread and of course background music!

I found some Enya, and the Practical Magic soundtrack.  It was the perfect mix.

Now I know you’re looking for pictures of food.  But since I was running around like a mad woman I didn’t get to take pictures of everything 😦

I did get a nice shot of bruschetta and the uncooked stuffed mushrooms. I’ll post these very soon.

Cheers!
Sabrina

Leave a Reply

