New Year, New You! Rah-Rah (Cheerleader Voice)


Hello friends! So along with 60% of Americans, I resolve to eat better in 2010.  Along with that, I also resolve to lose weight and exercise more.  Check out the survey results done by TD Ameritrade and Opinion Research Corporation. http://www.usnews.com/money/blogs/planning-to-retire/2009/12/24/more-americans-make-financial-new-years-resolutions.html To get on track, I’ll be posting all “healthy” recipes this month.  Yes, I put healthy in quotation marks. Why? Well don’t laugh, but my I think anything made from scratch is healthy. Why? Because I know all the ingredients going into my food. How? Because I don’t use any store-bought marinades or mixes or pre-seasoned meats. Yeah, so I may use heavy cream occasionally or cheese in almost everything I cook, but hey, everything in moderation right? The fact that I’m not ordering a cheese pizza with tomato slices from Franco’s down the street or the “Cross your fingers you don’t get a heart attack after eating this” steak and cheese subs from Carl’s , is alone to make me feel good about my food diet. Of course, I know I’m not terribly overweight (I’d like to lose a good 10lbs to get back to my early 20’s weight—a time when I could eat anything I wanted and not worry about gaining a milligram—ahh those were the days) so I know it may be more challenging for other people who want to lose more. But here’s the thing people—you ready? Unless you’re starving yourself, it’s really hard to lose any weight by just eating healthy. (Disclaimer, please do not starve yourself) You need to exercise. I’m sure you’ve all seen at least one episode of The Biggest Loser. They combine both exercise and a healthy diet as a way of shedding off the pounds.  I found a great website that helps you track all the basics to help you stay motivated to lose weight. It’s called Fit Day. It’s free and it helps you track all the foods you eat every day, your exercise routine, moods and even a journal. You can even track a weight loss goal. They create some cool graphs to track your progress. It’s basically just like weight watchers. It tells you how many calories you have to eat in order to lose x amount of weight by whatever date you input. Just be smart and don’t input a completely unattainable goal, like “I want to lose 15lbs in 2 weeks”. That’s just miserable. Plus it’s just unrealistic. What happens after the 2 weeks? Do you continue eating like an ant? Probably not, which means you’ll probably just gain it all back. You need to train yourself on what the healthier food options (fewer calories) are and what a proper portion is. It also motivates you to exercise, because as you input food, your actual calorie intake goes up. But when you put in that you ran for 20 minutes, it takes away the calories since you burned them! Check it out and stay tuned for some yummy, but kind of healthier recipes.

What are your new year resolutions?

Hello friends!

So along with 60% of Americans, I resolve to eat better in 2010.

Along with that, I also resolve to lose weight and exercise more.  Check out the survey done by TD Ameritrade and Opinion Research Corporation.

To get on track, I’ll be posting all “healthy” recipes this month.  Yes, I put healthy in quotation marks. Why? Well don’t laugh, but my I think anything made from scratch is healthy. Why? Because I know all the ingredients going into my food. How? Because I don’t use any store-bought marinades or mixes or pre-seasoned meats. Yeah, so I may use heavy cream occasionally or cheese in almost everything I cook, but hey, everything in moderation right? The fact that I’m not ordering a cheese pizza with tomato slices from Franco’s down the street or the “Cross your fingers you don’t get a heart attack after eating this” steak and cheese subs from Carl’s , is alone to make me feel good about my food diet.

Of course, I know I’m not terribly overweight (I’d like to lose a good 10lbs to get back to my early 20’s weight—a time when I could eat anything I wanted and not worry about gaining a milligram—ahh those were the days) so I know it may be more challenging for other people who want to lose more. But here’s the thing people—you ready? Unless you’re starving yourself, it’s really hard to lose any weight by just eating healthy. (Disclaimer, please do not starve yourself) You need to exercise. I’m sure you’ve all seen at least one episode of The Biggest Loser. They combine both exercise and a healthy diet as a way of shedding off the pounds.

I found a great website that helps you track all the basics to help you stay motivated to lose weight. It’s called My Fitness Pal. It’s free and it helps you track all the foods you eat every day and your exercise routine. You can download ticker widgets and apps for you iPhone. You can even track a weight loss goal. They create some cool graphs to track your progress. It’s basically just like weight watchers. It tells you how many calories you have to eat in order to lose x amount of weight by whatever date you input. Just be smart and don’t input a completely unattainable goal, like “I want to lose 15lbs in 2 weeks”. That’s just miserable. Plus it’s just unrealistic. What happens after the 2 weeks? Do you continue eating like an ant? Probably not, which means you’ll probably just gain it all back. You need to train yourself on what the healthier food options (fewer calories) are and what a proper portion is. It also motivates you to exercise, because as you input food, your actual calorie intake goes up. But when you put in that you ran for 20 minutes, it takes away the calories since you burned them! Check it out and stay tuned for some yummy, but kind of healthier recipes.

Cheers,

Sabrina

Leave a Reply

