Summer in January


I love the combination of fresh tomatoes, cucumbers and olive oil. In the summer I love making this kind of salad. A couple weeks ago I saw Rachel Ray making Panzanella. I never thought of adding bread to this kind of salad, but I do always end up dipping my bread in the tomato and olive oil juices of my salad, so I knew the combination would be great. Plus, I always have stale bread lying around. This kind o f salad goes really well with fish. I made it with my broiled salmon dish. Hope you like!

Panzanella


Panzanella
Serves 3

Ingredients
3 vine-ripened tomatoes
1 cucumber
3 heaping tablespoons of Extra virgin olive oil
3 big basil leaves
Stale Italian bread
salt and pepper as desired

Directions

Start by chopping up tomatoes and cucumbers into chunks.


Add them to a large bowl. Add about 3 tablespoons of olive oil and mix up. It should be nice and wet.

Chop up the basil leaves and add those.

On a cutting board, dice up bread. If it’s really stale and hard, you can soak the bread in water for a few minutes.

Add to the bowl and mix with the tomatoes and cucumbers. Make sure everything is nice and wet. Add more olive oil if it’s not wet enough. Season with salt and pepper as desired.

Goes great with salmon or as a stand alone dish!

Cheers,
Sabrina

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Panzanella « Om nom nom nom.

Leave a Reply

