Cranberries Linger


I’ve decided to continue on with my healthy eating habits. This consists of eating a low calorie lunch and dinner Monday through Thursday. Friday, Saturday, and Sunday I take it easy. I don’t binge! I am just less tolerant of my meal choices. I do this because in the past I’ve found when I deprive myself of the foods I love, I start to crave “bad” foods more often and binge out at a weak point. So Monday through Thursday I TRY to cook a homemade meal where I control the ingredients. Lunches consist of leftover meals or sandwiches, salads, or sushi. I’ve eliminated butter from my recipes; will be eating less red meat; more fish; and substituting healthier options where appropriate. My main diet during the week will be fish (salmon or haddock), chicken breast or turkey, and loads of vegetables (especially spinach). I’m also going to try and find some bean recipes I like. I’m not crazy for beans so this may be a challenge. Please send me any great recipes you have!

Next up for yumminess – turkey cutlets. I found this super delicious recipe from Cooking Light, but eliminated the salt and butter. The dish is a little different with the cranberries as one of the ingredients, but the flavors really do go well together.  The boyfriend gave it the seal of approval. 😉



Turkey Cutlets with Cranberries

Ingredients
•    1  tablespoon  vegetable oil
•    2 turkey cutlets
•    1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
•    1/4  cup  all-purpose flour
•    1  cup  fresh orange juice
•    2  teaspoons  Dijon mustard
•    1/3  cup  dried cranberries


Preparation

Heat oil in frying pan over low heat.

Crack some fresh pepper over cutlets, then dredge cutlets in flour and shake off the excess.

Increase heat to medium-high. Add cutlets to pan and cook for 2 minutes on each side or until golden brown.

Remove cutlets from pan and keep them warm by wrapping in foil. Add orange juice, mustard, and cranberries to pan, scraping to loosen browned bits. Bring to a boil, and cook for about 5 minutes. I like to add a little cornstarch if the consistency is too watery, but make sure to mix it with a little water in a separate bowl before adding the sauce, otherwise it will curdle. Serve sauce over cutlets.


How good does this look?!!!


Serve with a side of some yummy veggies!

Cheers,
Sabrina

One response »

  1. Pingback: I’m a Slacker! « The Mixing Bowl

Leave a Reply

