Cauliflower Pancakes


I came across this recipe yesterday, and I couldn’t help but smile. I have great memories of these yummy fritters – my mom used to make these all the time. I’d wait beside her at the stove. She’d be frying these babies up, and I’d be waiting anxiously for the first batch to be done. I’d eat them right off the hot plate!

So I had to try out this recipe–my mom hasn’t made them in so long and I didn’t have the recipe from her. I already had my dinner planned out for the night and it was already in the works. I decided to fry these up as a little appetizer. I was nervous because I know Mr. P., my husband is not a fan of cauliflower, but somehow I thought these would be an exception… and they were. Score!

I tweaked the recipe slightly. Here is my version.

Ingredients:

4 cups steamed cauliflower (roughly chopped)
2 cloves crushed garlic
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 eggs
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/4 cup hot water
salt and pepper
1/4 cup olive oil

Directions:

In a large bowl, mix together the chopped and steamed cauliflower, flour, garlic, eggs, cheese and salt + pepper. Add the water and mix it up until its creamy.

Heat a skillet on med/low heat with the olive oil. Use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to measure the batter and spoon it onto the pan, flattening slightly.

Cook until crispy brown on each side.

Cheers,
Sabrina

Leave a Reply

